SIC

SIC Darkhorse foam surfboard

SIC Darkhorse Soft Top Surfboard

Wondering what to choose for your next surfboard ? A foam board or a traditional rigid surfboard?

Foam surfboards have been gaining popularity in the surfing world for the past few years. They were originally found in surf schools all over the world. They are accessible and safe for learning to surf thanks to their deck entirely covered with EVA foam. Soft top surfboards allow you to learn to surf smoothly and offer good durability (provided the construction is good).

As with other surfboards, there is a wide range of boards with different shapes. From fish to mini malibu without forgetting the longboard. This diversity of shapes allows riders of all levels and sizes to discover the sensations of surfing. Some brands such as Softech specialize in designing high performance foam surfboards based on shortboard shapes.

If you are looking for an indestructible surfboard, we have a selection of surfboards made in France available under the brands Tahe and SIC (Ex Bic).

Our opinion on foam surfboards

If it's your first surfboard and you're looking for a board that's solid enough and doesn't suffer from shocks, the foam board allows you to surf in complete serenity. With a soft construction, you can surf with a clear conscience as the foam fins and rails are made to prevent you from getting hurt in case of shocks when you fall.

What size foam surfboard should I use?

As for a classic surfboard, foam surfboards are chosen according to several criteria, you must take into account your level of practice. This allows you to have the most adapted size and shape.

For a beginner surfer, we recommend a foam board of similar size to the one used in lessons, generally between 7' and 9'. Traditionally we opt for the same shape, like a funboard or a longboard.

In the SIC Darkhorse range, you will find what you are looking for, whether you are a beginner, an intermediate rider, a child or a rider weighing over 100 kilos, there is a board for you.

  • The 8'4 allows the tallest and the heaviest riders to discover the joys of surfing, with its 85 L you can surf it without worries up to 125 kilos. Close to a longboard shape, this board is fast to paddle and allows you to start on the smallest waves without forcing.

  • The 7'8 is the perfect foam surfboard for beginners, it's the right compromise between volume and length to glide effortlessly. Its big strength is its ease for take off. With its 70L, getting up on your surfboard is effortless. The 7'8 SIC Darkhorse is suitable for the whole family and will allow you to surf in a wide range of conditions and spots.

  • The 6'8 : You already know how to surf ? Or you are less than 90 kilos? Here is a board that will allow you to progress in surfing quickly, with its 5 fin boxes you will also be able to test different fin configurations depending on your style. It is the favorite board of teenagers, it combines glide and maneuverability.

  • The 5'8 was designed for the demanding rider, but is also suitable for kids and lighter riders. With a modern and compact shape, it will be able to perform turns in small waves. Riders up to 70 kilos will be able to surf it without worries, with its 40 L it offers stability and is close to the performance of a traditional shortboard.

About the SIC Darkhorse foam surfboard:

The SIC Darkhorse is part of the world of performance foam boards

Fun without compromising on performance, the Darkhorse is a real weapon on the lineup thanks to its reactivity, its maneuverability, its glide and a touch of nervousness!

The Darkhorse is available in two different fin configurations:

- Thruster (3) for the 5'8 and 6'8 models
- Combo (5) for the 7'4 and 8'4 models

About SIC.

SIC is one of the most iconic brands in the world of watersports. Founded by Mark Raaphors, SIC has quickly become one of the top brands in the world of SUP and Surfing. SIC surfboards are known for their durability and performance.

We self-tax with 1% for the Planet®

At Ocean Essentials since our beginning we have been part of a collective of companies that have decided to donate at least 1% of their annual sales toenvironmental associations.

Keep your equipment longer.

Buy used if you can, trade in and repair your equipment before making a purchase if you really need it.

If you can find a good used board near you, it's probably the best thing you can do for our planet, there are also sites like Akewatu which has a large selection of boards available at local surf stores.

You may also like

Recently viewed

SIC

Planche de Surf en mousse SIC Darkhorse

Surf en mousse SIC Darkhorse Soft Top

Vous vous demandez quoi choisir pour votre prochaine planche de surf ? Une planche en mousse ou une planche de surf traditionnelle rigide ?

Les planches de surf en mousses connaissent un gain de popularité dans le monde du surf depuis quelques années. À l'origine, on les retrouve dans les écoles de surf aux quatre coins du globe. Elles sont accessibles et sécurisante pour l'apprentissage du surf grâce à leur pont entièrement recouvert de mousse EVA. Les planches de surf en mousse ou soft top vous permettent un apprentissage en douceur du surf et offre une bonne durabilité (sous réservé d'une construction de qualité.)

Comme sur les autres planches de surf, on retrouve une large gamme de planches déclinées sous plusieurs types de shapes. Du fish au mini malibu sans oublier le longboard. Cette diversité de formes permet aux riders de tous niveaux et tous gabarits de découvrir les sensations du surf. Certaines marques comme Softech se sont spécialisée sur la conception des planches de surf en mousse ultra performantes basée sur des shapes de shortboards

Si vous cherchez la planche de surf indestructible, nous avons une sélection de planches de surf made in France disponible sous les marques Tahe et SIC ( Ex Bic)

Notre avis sur les planches de surf en mousse

Si c'est votre première planche de surf et que vous cherchez une planche assez solide et qui ne craint pas les chocs la mousse vous permettra de surfer en toute sérénité. Avec une construction soft, vous pouvez surfer la conscience tranquille les ailerons et les rails en mousse sont fait pour ne pas vous blesser en cas de chocs lors de vos chutes

Quelle taille de planche surf en mousse ?

Comme pour une planche de surf classique, les planches de surf en mousse se choisissent en fonction de plusieurs critères, il faut prendre en compte votre niveau de pratique. Cela vous permettra d’avoir la taille et le shape le plus adapté.

Pour un  sufer débutant, nous recommandons une planche en mousse de taille similaire à celle utilisée en cours, généralement entre 7’ et 9'. Traditionnellement on opte pour le même shape, de type funboard ou longboard.

 Dans la gamme SIC Darkhorse vous trouvrez forcément votre bonheur, débutants, intermédiaires, enfants, gabarits de plus de 100 kilos il y à une planche pour vous.

  • La 8'4 permet aux riders les plus grands et les plus de découvrir les joies du surf, avec ses 85 L on peut la surfer sans soucis jusqu'à 125 kilos. Proche d'un shape longboard, cette planche est rapide à la rame et permet de partir sur les plus petites vagues sans forcer.

 

  • La 7'8 c'est la planche de surf en mousse parfaite pour débuter, c'est le bon compromis volume, longueur pour glisser sans effort. Son gros point fort, c'est sa facilité au take off. Avec ses 70 L se lever sur votre surf devient un jeu d'enfant. La SIC Darkhorse 7'8 conviendra pour toute la famille et vous permettra de surfer dans un large panel de conditions et de spots

 

  • La 6'8 : vous maitriser le surf ? Ou vous faites moins de 90 kilos voici une planche qui vous permettra de progresser en surf rapidement, avec ses 5 boitiers d'ailerons vous pourrez aussi tester différentes configurations d'aileron en fonction de votre style. C'est la planche préférée des ados, elle combine glisse et maniabilité.

 

  • La 5'8 a été conçue pour les riders exigeants, elles convient aussi pour les enfants et les plus légers Avec un shape moderne et compact elle va pouvoir enchainer les turns dans les vagues de petites tailles. Les riders jusqu'à 70 kilos pourront la surfer sans soucis avec ses 40 L elle offre une stabilité et se rapproche des performances d'un shortboard traditionnel.

À propos de la planche de surf en mousse SIC Darkhorse :

Les SIC Darkhorse s'inscrivent dans l'univers des planches en mousse performantes

Ludique sans compromis sur la performance, la Darkhorse se révèle être une véritable arme sur le lineup grâce à sa réactivité, sa manœuvrabilité, sa glisse et une pointe de nervosité !

La Darkhorse est disponible en deux configurations ailerons distinctes :

- Thruster (3) pour les modèles 5'8 et 6'8
- Combo (5) pour les modèles 7'4 et 8'4

À propos de SIC.

SIC est une des marques emblématiques dans le monde du watersport. Fondée par Mark Raaphors, SIC est rapidement devenue l'une des marques incontournables dans le monde du SUP et du Surf. Les planches de Surf SIC sont connues pour être à la fois solides et performantes.

Nous nous auto-taxons avec 1% for the Planet®

Chez Ocean Essentials depuis notre création nous faisons parti d'un collectif d'entreprises qui ont décidé de reverser au moins 1% de leur chiffre d'affaires annuel  à des associations environnementales de terrain. 

Gardez votre équipement plus longtemps.

Achetez d'occasion si vous pouvez, échangez et réparez votre équipement avant de faire un achat demander vous si vous en avez vraiment besoin.

Si vous pouvez trouver une bonne planche d'occasion proche de chez vous, c'est surement la meilleure chose que vous puissiez faire pour note planète, il existe aussi des sites comme Akewatu qui regroupe une large sélection de planche disponible dans les magasins de Surf locaux.

You may also like

Recently viewed